Customer reviews for Prescriptives Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15

Prescriptives Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15

Oil-free foundation - modernized. Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup is a medium to full coverage liquid foundation with a satin Matte Finish. Broad Spectrum SPF 15.
Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 112 reviews
5 Stars
98
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
107 out of 108(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Review 1 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarNicole in NYC
fromNew York, NY
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 0-5 Years
Shade:Fresh Camellia (17)
PostedJuly 23, 2015

Great Product

Love the: Great Coverage, Long-lasting
I have oily, acne prone skin with a lot of red undertone. This is the first product (liquid or powder) that didn't break up during the day from oil. It has good coverage and I don't feel like I have anything on. I also LOVE the color options. Most foundations look yellow on my skin, but their cool colors are a perfect match.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbest foundation
fromNaperville, IL
Age Range: 55 to 64
Using Prescriptives: 0-5 Years
Shade:Fresh Ivory Warm
PostedJune 5, 2015

The product covers evenly, feels lightweight and does not fade.

Love the: Great Coverage, Lightweight, Long-lasting
I used this products years ago and stopped. Now that I have started using again. I am not sure why I stopped.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmikesmom
fromFlorida, USA
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh Chestnut
PostedMay 8, 2015

Virtual Matte Fresh Chestnut

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I had given up on Prescriptives since they offer very limited products, and refuse to bring back the Magic Liquid Powder in Deep Translucent. However, I really do like PX products and I have been a customer since 1993. We are going into summer, and I wanted to try the Virtual Matte foundation in Fresh Chestnut. I have combination skin, and I wanted a lightweight, matte foundation to reduce shine and provide coverage. After years of being typed as a Yellow/Orange, I discovered that I have more of a cool undertone, and the Fresh Chestnut is a perfect match. The coverage is nice, and it looks very natural on my skin. I will continue to purchase the Virtual Skin Foundation in Fresh Chestnut as long as they offer it. I may need to stock up just in case they decide to discontinue it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarStaysee
fromBrooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 0-5 Years
Shade:Fresh Cocoa
PostedApril 6, 2015

SAMPLES PLEASE!!!

Love the: Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I was a loyal customer until the Virtual Matte in Fresh Cocoa was discontinued. I routinely check this site to see if by the grace of God they have blessed us women of color with more shades. Sigh...Still nothing. OK, so how about Prescriptives offer samples? So, we may blend our perfect shade ourselves. Virtual Matte is the best foundation I've ever used. I have very oily skin and this foundation stays put. Please provide samples...shucks, even charge a small fee. Your customers will love you for it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarINDYANNA
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Pecan
PostedMarch 31, 2015

The best makup for oily skin

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Long-lasting
I used to wear Prescriptives and was very disappointed when they stopped selling it in the department stores. In my quest to find a good makeup that would combat my oily skin, I searched online to look at reviews of other makeup brands. Needless to say, I was quite surprised when I found out that Prescriptives was available online!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarsheilal
fromNorth Carolina, USA
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Real Antelope
PostedDecember 24, 2014

Surprisingly Great Finish (for non oily skin)

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I usually wear Virtual Skin in Real Antelope; however, I wanted something with an SPF since my moisturizer didn't contain an SPF. I toyed between this one and flawless - the customer service representative suggested this one. I was a bit skeptical at first since I don't have oily skin but will have to say the coverage is great and looks a lot like the Virtual Skin finish. One thing to note: I had to go up a shade as my regular shade was not a perfect match in this formula as it appeared to be a little on the ashy side.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarKathy P
fromMaryland
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 0-5 Years
Shade:Fresh Cream 01
PostedOctober 25, 2014

Love it!!

Love the: Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I am 50 yrs old with oily/acne prone skin (yes, still at 50) and have tried almost every make up on the market that will both cover well and not make me break out. Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup is fabulous! I've been using it for about 2 weeks and I feel like my skin actually looks better! Coverage is great and no breakouts! Thank you Precriptives!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarOmccl sin
fromPasadena, CA
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:chestnut
PostedOctober 22, 2014

RE-CONSIDER THE WOMEN OF COLOR - Trust US it's okay for inclusion :))

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Natural Finish
I was disappointed when I learned (again, because I refuse to believe it -so I kept searching and asking) that you no longer sell your products in the stores. I have purchased your on-line products and they are great for my skin. The compliments are endless when I wear your make-up.HOWEVER, consider women of color when your R&D team are making the shades especially for the OIL CONTROL MAKEUP BROAD SPECTRUM SPF 15. My make-up last longer because I don't use a lot and because I don't want the color to dry lighter than I am.... I do choose the closest color to my skin in the Fall and Sping; at least from the choices BUT Create more colors and RECONSIDER WOMEN of COLOR when you do.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarV88
fromSan Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Age Range: 55 to 64
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh beige
PostedSeptember 20, 2014

Love this foundation!

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
This oil free foundation not only is perfect for my hard to match skin color, I can control the sheerness so easily with the amount I apply. A very little gives me a perfect all day look for my 12 hour work day. So happy to be able to purchase Prescriptives again. I was heartbroken when it left the stores.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmissvette
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Antelope
PostedSeptember 12, 2014

Smooth finish

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I love the way this foundation evens out my complexion and makes it look like I am not wearing much make up at all. It is a very natural look. I have oily skin as well and it does a good job of minimizing shine as well. I purchased a bottle for my daughter as well. She has severe acne and scars and it gives her a flawless finish!!! Covers the the blemishes and dark spots without looking "made up"!!!
I have been using Prescriptives foundation since I was in my twenties and will not use anything else!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avataraidacelest
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:fresh tawny
PostedSeptember 11, 2014

Please bring back Fresh Tawny!!!

Love the: Great Coverage, Long-lasting
I have tried every foundation from MAC to Clinique and nothing matches my skin shade and type like this product. I'm beige, but warm with golden undertones and my skin is oily, which makes finding the perfect foundation a nightmare! I've run out of my fresh tawny and let me tell you it's been difficult trying to wear other foundations. Either it's too orange, too oily, to ashy, or just too dark. Please Prescriptives, bring back this shade!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarajlurie
fromNJ
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 0-5 Years
PostedAugust 20, 2014

Foundation

Love the: Lightweight, Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I purchased this product because I have an oily T zone and this foundation is perfect for me. I am not greasy anymore at the end of the day. It provides good coverage too because I have melasma on my face and when blended its barely noticeable. I love this product its exactly what it says it is light and provides coverage. I just added this to my daily routine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLawGirl in PA
fromPennsylvania, USA
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh Ecru
PostedJune 18, 2014

So glad I found Prescriptives again!

I was so disappointed when Prescriptives stopped selling products in stores. For a while, the website seemed to be stocking only a limited number of products, so I stopped even checking for my favorites. Having suffered yet another disappointment, I came back to the website and was thrilled to be able to get "my" foundation again! Not only is my shade still a great match with my skin, but the oil control is great, and the foundation lasts all day, even in hot and humid weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarKaseyJ
fromLos Angeles,CA
Age Range: 25 to 34
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh Beige
PostedJune 13, 2014

Nice Match

Love the: Great Coverage, Natural Finish
I recently started using this foundation again. I have oily skin and redness on nose and upper cheeks. This foundation does a good job on covering up the redness, besides matching my skin tone very well. I use a stippling brush to apply. I like it looks good in natural light. I have used other foundations that covered up well, and really controlled the oil, but made me look "pinkish". Probably was the undertone that didn't match me, as I have a golden undertone. Either way, I like the coverage and color match.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarfresh ginger
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 0-5 Years
PostedJune 1, 2014

Nothing better on the market

Love the: Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
Beautiful matte ,natural looking finish,lasts all day,I get compliments all the time,people want to know what is it I use,I would consider using nothing else
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarJacki
fromSchererville, IN, USA
Age Range: 25 to 34
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:04
PostedMay 28, 2014

Not matte

Love the: Efficient and attentive service, Helpful advice, Personalized recommendations
I would say this is sheer to medium and NOT medium to full coverage. It is not a matte finish. This is probably a semi matte finish to me. This does not uphold when worn in summer Midwestern heat and humidity. Each time I put on some sunglasses, this smears or rubs off where the glasses were. You need a really good powder to match with this. The liquid powder they have here is amazing with this in the winter months for me. However, I wish this was more matte, matte finish, longer lasting, doesn't rub off, doesn't smear and better coverage. I love how it is amazingly easy to blend. I have extremely sensitive skin. I cannot use drugstore brands and even some high end brands make my skin irritated. This never makes my skin irritated. That is a HUGE plus to this. I wish they had another oil free foundation that is long wear, REAL full coverage, doesn't rub off, a REAL matte finish. I am still seeking for my HG foundation and this is just my back up for now.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFoundation perfection!
fromFort Smith, AR, USA
Age Range: 55 to 64
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh porcelain
PostedMay 7, 2014

My favorite makeup

Love the: Great Coverage, Long-lasting
I have used this product for years. When it was discontinued at the department store where I bought it I tried many other brands of foundation but have never found one that worked with my coloring as well. I was so happy when I found the online site. I will continue to buy this product as long as I possibly can.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarGracieJRT
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Age Range: 55 to 64
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh Rose
PostedMay 7, 2014

Loyal user since 1990

Love the: Great Coverage, Natural Finish, Long-lasting
I have been using Virtual Matte Oil Control Make-Up since 1990. Its availability has always been limited, first to high-end department stores, then to online sales only. Because of this problem I have tried other products, all of which are still in the back of my make-up drawer. I have rosacea and need a full coverage make-up, and this works better for me than any other I have found in 24 years of searching. It lasts all day and provides the oil-free sun protection I need, along with excellent coverage. If it ever disappears, I will be in deep trouble.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsanhunt
fromMarietta, GA, USA
Age Range: 45 to 54
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh Antelope
PostedApril 30, 2014

Great Product

Love the: Great Coverage
I was over joyed when I found Prescriptive products online. Prescriptive"Fresh Antelope" foundation is a prefect match for me, no other foundation came close. All I have to say is Thank You, Thank You, Thank You
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virtual Matte Oil-Control Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpurevirginat36
fromBergen, Norway
Age Range: 35 to 44
Using Prescriptives: 5+ years
Shade:Fresh Ecru
PostedApril 24, 2014

This creates skin perfection!!!

Love the: Efficient and attentive service
I began using this foundation in Fresh Ecru at 17, and still use it at 2 months shy of 37--and it not only creates absolutely perfect skin, but has done so during all these years. If you know how to correctly apply foundation and do so with attention to detail, this is very fast and easy to apply, and it really does last ALL DAY. This is the only foundation from any company in the whole world that includes all of the following qualities: the exact right shades for yellow/brown-undertoned skin that is also pale porcelaine-skinned or lighter, non-irritating, good-smelling, doesn't come off at all until you wash your face/otherwise strongly wipe off the product, stays matte the entire time you have it on, and really creates the most evened-out complexion there could be. This is absolutely worth getting, and changed my life all the way back in 1994.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>